Infrastructure register

UK data-centre tracker

A manually verified register of UK data centre and AI infrastructure projects. Each entry records what has actually been published — status, location, capacity where it is stated — and links back to the original source. We do not estimate figures that operators have not disclosed; unstated fields are shown as "Not published".

This is an evidence-led register of projects identified from public records. It is not claimed to be a complete census of every UK data centre.

Data-centre projects (filtered)
47

5 AI Growth Zones shown separately and excluded from these totals

Verified with visible sources
27

20 carry at least one primary record (43%)

Operational / under construction
11 / 3

Approved 20 · Proposed 11 · Refused or withdrawn 1

Checked in the last 90 days
47

33 of 47 hold a planning reference

Published IT load: 3,599.2 MW from 8 of 47 matching projects.

Published grid-connection capacity: 100 MW from 1 of 47 matching projects.

5 matching projects report megawatt figures whose definition the source does not state. Those figures are shown on the project profile but excluded from every total.

A missing capacity figure means none has been published. It does not mean zero.

About the UK data-centre tracker

The tracker is a register of UK data-centre and AI infrastructure projects compiled by hand. Each record holds the project name, operator where published, town and region, planning status, planning authority and reference where one exists, any published capacity figure with the measurement it refers to, and links to the documents the entry is based on.

How projects are selected

A project is added only when it can be evidenced from a named public source — a local planning portal record, a government announcement, an official statistic or an operator’s own published statement. Projects reported only through unattributed rumour are not added, and figures that have never been published are left blank rather than estimated.

What the status labels mean

Operational
The facility is built and in service according to its operator or an official record.
Under construction
Construction has started on site and this has been publicly reported or documented.
Approved
Planning permission or an equivalent consent has been granted, but construction has not been confirmed as started.
Proposed
The project has been announced or an application has been submitted, and no decision has been recorded.

How often records are checked

Records are reviewed by hand and each entry shows the date it was last verified. Projects with live planning applications are revisited more often than settled operational sites. The “checked in the last 90 days” figure above shows how much of the register has been reviewed recently.

Reporting a correction

If a record is wrong or out of date, tell us and we will check it against the source. See the corrections policy or read the research methodology. For the electricity side of this picture, see the UK data-centre electricity demand evidence and the UK AI Energy Index.

Filter and search

The capacity filter uses the largest published figure whose measurement the source defines — an IT load, a stated electrical demand, a grid-connection capacity or a campus build-out figure. Megawatt figures with no published definition are treated as unknown.

Sort by

Where these projects are

Markers reflect your current filters. Select one to see the project and open its full profile.

LondonSouth EastSouth WestEast of EnglandEast MidlandsWest MidlandsYorkshire and the HumberNorth WestNorth EastWalesScotlandNorthern Ireland
ApprovedUnder constructionProposedPausedRefusedOperationalRegional position only

Schematic locator map. Solid markers use coordinates recorded with the entry; dashed markers sit at the centre of the project's region because no site coordinates have been published. Nothing here should be read as a precise site boundary.

Selected project

Select a marker to see the project, its published capacity and a link to the full profile.

On the map

Tracker totals

Totals for the 47 data-centre projects recorded in this tracker. They are not totals for the whole UK: the register covers projects we have been able to evidence from public records. 5 AI Growth Zones are designated areas rather than facilities and are excluded from these figures.

Operational
11
Under construction
3
Approved
20
Proposed
11
Refused
1
Paused
1

Known operational capacity: 4.2 MW of published IT load across 1 of 11 operational projects.

Known pipeline capacity: 3,595 MW of published IT load across 7 pipeline projects. By stage: under construction 751 MW, approved 1,272 MW, proposed 1,572 MW.

  • 37 of 47 records have no capacity figure that can be used in a total. A missing figure means none has been published; it is not zero and it is excluded from every sum.
  • Only figures measuring the same thing are added together. IT load, stated electrical demand, grid-connection capacity and whole-campus build-out figures are kept apart. 5 records report megawatt figures with no published definition, so they are excluded.

Projects by area

Each project is counted in one area only. Slough and the Thames Valley is counted separately from the rest of South East England, so the two do not overlap.

AreaProjectsOperationalPipelinePublished IT load
East of England918Not published
London74335.2 MW (2 of 7)
South East England522Not published
Scotland504Not published
Wales514200 MW (1 of 5)
North East England and Yorkshire5141,720 MW (2 of 5)
North West England413Not published
Slough and the Thames Valley404144 MW (2 of 4)
Midlands110Not published
Northern Ireland101Not published
South West England1011,500 MW (1 of 1)

Capacity columns show published IT load only, and only where a figure exists. Projects whose location has not been confirmed are grouped under “Region not confirmed” rather than being assigned to an area.

UK data centres by nation

Counts cover every published record in the tracker, not the filtered selection above.

England

36 tracked data-centre projects: 10 operational, 2 under construction, 15 approved and 8 proposed.

3,399.2 MW of published IT load across 7 of 36 projects.

Scotland

5 tracked data-centre projects: 0 operational, 1 under construction, 0 approved and 3 proposed.

No published IT load figures are available for these projects.

Wales

5 tracked data-centre projects: 1 operational, 0 under construction, 4 approved and 0 proposed.

200 MW of published IT load across 1 of 5 projects.

Northern Ireland

1 tracked data-centre project: 0 operational, 0 under construction, 1 approved and 0 proposed.

No published IT load figures are available for these projects.

Coverage and data quality

  • Sources: every tracked project carries at least one linked public source.
  • Verification: 0 records have not yet been verified against a source. That is different from a field being marked “not publicly available”, which means the information has been looked for and does not exist in public records.
  • Review interval: records are re-checked at least every 180 days. No record is currently past that interval.
  • Capacity definitions: 5 records carry megawatt figures the source does not define. They are shown on the project profile but excluded from totals.
  • Possible duplicates: 2 groups are flagged for human review. Flagged records stay published until a person confirms whether they are the same project.

Regional hubs

Summaries of tracked projects, disclosed capacity and stated investment by nation and region.

All regional hubs

AI Growth Zones

Government-designated zones get a dedicated profile covering investment, power and grid, planning and a sourced progress timeline.

Open the Growth Zones hub

Showing 52 of 52 projects

Entering the UK data-centre market?

Our 3-week Market Entry Sprint shows which projects to chase, who buys the packages, and what to do in the next 90 days. Built on the same sourced data as this tracker.

How this register is compiled

Every project is entered manually from a named public source — a planning portal record, an operator announcement or an official statistic. Confidence levels flag how firm the detail is, and figures that have never been published stay blank rather than being estimated. See our research methodology and corrections policy.

Monthly intelligence

The Real Pipeline — monthly

Which UK data-centre projects moved, and why. One email a month.