Back to the tracker

Rover Way energy park and data centre, Splott

Cardiff, WalesApproved Verified

Cardiff Council granted full planning permission on 15 April 2025 for the partial removal of fill material, reprofiling groundworks and the installation of an energy park comprising a battery energy storage facility, associated substation and ancillary buildings, together with a data centre, on land at Rover Way, Splott. The Planning Committee resolved to grant on 17 October 2024 subject to a Section 106 agreement, and the decision was issued once that agreement was completed. The register does not state an electrical capacity for the data centre, so none is recorded. Latos Data Centres, which is delivering the data-centre element, stated in December 2024 that the Cardiff data centre was under construction. The associated energy park includes 1,000 MW of battery storage, which is not data-centre load.

Key facts

Operator / developer
Latos Data Centres
Location
Land at Rover Way, Splott, Cardiff, Cardiff, Wales, United Kingdom
Status
Approved
Facility type
Data centre
AI relevance
Not stated
Floor area
50,400 m²
Permanent jobs
40

Power & grid

Power
No data centre IT load, electrical demand or grid connection capacity has been published for this scheme. The 1,000 MW figure widely reported for this site is the capacity of the battery energy storage facility within the wider energy park, not the power capacity of the data centre.
On-site generation
Consent also covers a 1,000MW battery energy storage facility (828 containerised units) on the same site.

Planning

Planning route
Local planning (TCPA)
Planning reference
24/00624/FUL
Planning decision
Permission granted
Decision date
15 April 2025
Land area
16.42 ha

Benefits vs drawbacks

Benefits

  • Paired with a 1,000MW battery storage park supporting grid flexibilitySource
  • Coastal defence improvements and Wales Coast Path realignmentSource

Drawbacks

  • 69% loss of open mosaic habitat; Cardiff's ecology officer objected and net biodiversity gain was not achievedSource
  • Up to 40 on-site staff only; no data centre power figure publishedSource
  • Contaminated land; about 200,000 cubic metres of fill to be removedSource

£250,000 for ecological habitat compensation; coastal defence improvements and a Wales Coast Path realignment.

Timeline

  1. Cardiff Council granted permission (24/00624/FUL).

    Source

Reality Score

33Speculative
How we score
Planning25/25
Grid connection0/25
Land and funding0/20
Delivery team8/15
Momentum0/15

Sources

Last verified

27 September 2026

Entering the UK data-centre market?

Our 3-week Market Entry Sprint shows which projects to chase, who buys the packages, and what to do in the next 90 days. Built on the same sourced data as this tracker.

Email me when this changes

Get an email when we update this project's published record.