Data Centre Growth Index
This sub-index tracks the expansion of the physical infrastructure supporting AI, cloud computing and other digital services in the UK — what is operational, what is being built, and what has been approved, proposed or refused.
Each development is held as a single unique record with its planning authority and reference, so a project reported by several sources is never counted twice. Not all data centre growth is driven by AI; this sub-index measures infrastructure, not cause.
Baseline reading
The initial baseline covers Great Britain's colocation data-centre IT capacity. Project coverage is expanding. Growth will be calculated when comparable readings are available.
- Colocation data-centre IT capacity, Great Britain
- 1.6 GW
- Next review: 11 February 2027
- Baseline period
- Autumn 2024
- Growth
- Not yet calculated
- Last reviewed
- 11 Sep 2026
Government estimate: DSIT’s modelled estimate of the maximum rated IT load of colocation data centres. It covers Great Britain and excludes Northern Ireland and enterprise data centres, and describes colocation infrastructure generally rather than AI workloads specifically. The figure is an estimate, not a direct measurement, and is not comparable with connected-capacity figures or with 2030 capacity forecasts, which use different definitions.
Department for Science, Innovation and Technology (DSIT) — published 1 May 2025
The project register below is a growing record of individual developments, not a complete national census. A published capacity baseline does not imply full project coverage.
Growth indicators
| Indicator | Current value | Reporting period | Previous | Change | Classification | Source | Review status |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| GB colocation data-centre capacityMaximum rated IT load of colocation data centres in Great Britain, as estimated by DSIT. Excludes enterprise data centres, and measures IT load rather than facility load, grid-connection capacity or campus capacity.Colocation only, so it understates the total estate. Modelled estimates, rounded. Great Britain only: Northern Ireland is excluded. | 1.6 GW | Autumn 2024 | — | — | Verified | Department for Science, Innovation and Technology (DSIT) | 11 Sep 2026 Next review: 11 February 2027 |
| UK AI-capable data-centre capacity requirement (2030)Forecast requirement for AI-capable data-centre capacity in the UK by 2030, as set out in the UK Compute Roadmap. This is a forecast requirement, not installed capacity.The roadmap does not define whether "AI-capable capacity" means IT load, facility load or grid-connection capacity. UK-wide, so it is not comparable with Great Britain colocation figures. | 6 GW | By 2030 (UK Compute Roadmap forecast) | — | — | Forecast | Department for Science, Innovation and Technology (DSIT) | 8 Oct 2026 Next review: 11 February 2027 |
| Colocation data-centre IT capacity - LondonMaximum rated IT load of colocation data centres in the London ITL1 region.Colocation facilities only; enterprise data centres are excluded. ITL1 regions differ from the nine index regions - Slough and the Thames Valley falls within South East. | 1,048 MW | Autumn 2024 | — | — | Verified | Department for Science, Innovation and Technology (DSIT) | 8 Oct 2026 Next review: 12 February 2027 |
| Colocation data-centre IT capacity - South EastMaximum rated IT load of colocation data centres in the South East ITL1 region.Colocation facilities only; enterprise data centres are excluded. ITL1 regions differ from the nine index regions - Slough and the Thames Valley falls within South East. | 128 MW | Autumn 2024 | — | — | Verified | Department for Science, Innovation and Technology (DSIT) | 8 Oct 2026 Next review: 12 February 2027 |
| Colocation data-centre IT capacity - WalesMaximum rated IT load of colocation data centres in the Wales ITL1 region.Colocation facilities only; enterprise data centres are excluded. ITL1 regions differ from the nine index regions - Slough and the Thames Valley falls within South East. | 154 MW | Autumn 2024 | — | — | Verified | Department for Science, Innovation and Technology (DSIT) | 8 Oct 2026 Next review: 12 February 2027 |
| Colocation data-centre IT capacity - South WestMaximum rated IT load of colocation data centres in the South West ITL1 region.Colocation facilities only; enterprise data centres are excluded. ITL1 regions differ from the nine index regions - Slough and the Thames Valley falls within South East. | 53 MW | Autumn 2024 | — | — | Verified | Department for Science, Innovation and Technology (DSIT) | 8 Oct 2026 Next review: 12 February 2027 |
| Colocation data-centre IT capacity - North WestMaximum rated IT load of colocation data centres in the North West ITL1 region.Colocation facilities only; enterprise data centres are excluded. ITL1 regions differ from the nine index regions - Slough and the Thames Valley falls within South East. | 52 MW | Autumn 2024 | — | — | Verified | Department for Science, Innovation and Technology (DSIT) | 8 Oct 2026 Next review: 12 February 2027 |
| Colocation data-centre IT capacity - EastMaximum rated IT load of colocation data centres in the East ITL1 region.Colocation facilities only; enterprise data centres are excluded. ITL1 regions differ from the nine index regions - Slough and the Thames Valley falls within South East. | 44 MW | Autumn 2024 | — | — | Verified | Department for Science, Innovation and Technology (DSIT) | 8 Oct 2026 Next review: 12 February 2027 |
| Colocation data-centre IT capacity - ScotlandMaximum rated IT load of colocation data centres in the Scotland ITL1 region.Colocation facilities only; enterprise data centres are excluded. ITL1 regions differ from the nine index regions - Slough and the Thames Valley falls within South East. | 30 MW | Autumn 2024 | — | — | Verified | Department for Science, Innovation and Technology (DSIT) | 8 Oct 2026 Next review: 12 February 2027 |
| Colocation data-centre IT capacity - North EastMaximum rated IT load of colocation data centres in the North East ITL1 region.Colocation facilities only; enterprise data centres are excluded. ITL1 regions differ from the nine index regions - Slough and the Thames Valley falls within South East. | 17 MW | Autumn 2024 | — | — | Verified | Department for Science, Innovation and Technology (DSIT) | 8 Oct 2026 Next review: 12 February 2027 |
| Colocation data-centre IT capacity - Yorkshire and the HumberMaximum rated IT load of colocation data centres in the Yorkshire and the Humber ITL1 region.Colocation facilities only; enterprise data centres are excluded. ITL1 regions differ from the nine index regions - Slough and the Thames Valley falls within South East. | 16 MW | Autumn 2024 | — | — | Verified | Department for Science, Innovation and Technology (DSIT) | 8 Oct 2026 Next review: 12 February 2027 |
| Colocation data-centre IT capacity - West MidlandsMaximum rated IT load of colocation data centres in the West Midlands ITL1 region.Colocation facilities only; enterprise data centres are excluded. ITL1 regions differ from the nine index regions - Slough and the Thames Valley falls within South East. | 15 MW | Autumn 2024 | — | — | Verified | Department for Science, Innovation and Technology (DSIT) | 8 Oct 2026 Next review: 12 February 2027 |
| Announced UK data centre capacityIT capacity announced, consented or under construction across UK data centre projects.Announcements are marketing documents as much as engineering ones; announced capacity regularly differs from what is eventually energised. | Data not yet available | — | — | — | Data not yet available | Operator and developer announcements | — Next review: 23 December 2026 |
| Colocation data-centre IT capacity - East MidlandsMaximum rated IT load of colocation data centres in the East Midlands ITL1 region.Colocation facilities only; enterprise data centres are excluded. ITL1 regions differ from the nine index regions - Slough and the Thames Valley falls within South East. | 9 MW | Autumn 2024 | — | — | Verified | Department for Science, Innovation and Technology (DSIT) | 8 Oct 2026 Next review: 12 February 2027 |
Project register
Every development below is a published record with its own sources and last-verified date. Records still under review are not included in these totals.
Operational
11
Under construction
3
Approved
25
Proposed
11
Refused
1
Delayed or cancelled
0
Counts cover published records only, and are never combined across statuses: a proposed development is not added to operational capacity.
| Project | Operator | Location | Region | Status | Capacity | Capacity definition | Planning decision | Expected opening | Last verified |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 Redheughs Avenue data centre, South GyleType unconfirmed | — | EdinburghCity of Edinburgh Council | Scotland | Refused | 212.42 MW | Capacity definition unclear | Refused by City of Edinburgh Council (committee 4 February 2026; decision dated 9 February 2026); appeal lodged with the DPEA on 31 March 2026 and recalled by Scottish Ministers on 17 August 2026. The DPEA lists the case as on hold.9 Feb 2026 | — | 27 Sep 2026 |
| 45 Maylands Avenue, Hemel HempsteadType unconfirmed | — | Hemel HempsteadDacorum Borough Council | East of England | Approved | — | Not disclosed | — | — | 27 Sep 2026 |
| Amazon Data Services, Ridgeway Distribution Centre, IverHyperscale | Amazon Web Services | IverBuckinghamshire Council | Slough and the Thames Valley | Approved | — | Not disclosed | Approved subject to conditions and a legal agreement28 Sep 2026 | — | 30 Sep 2026 |
| Amazon Web Services, Plot 3 Maylands AvenueType unconfirmed | Amazon Web Services | Hemel HempsteadDacorum Borough Council | East of England | Proposed | — | Not disclosed | — | — | 27 Sep 2026 |
| Cambois data centre campusHyperscale | QTS (Blackstone) | CamboisNorthumberland County Council | North East and Yorkshire | Under construction | 720 MW | IT load | Application permitted (outline, all matters reserved)8 May 2025 | — | 27 Sep 2026 |
| Carlton Park Data Centre 1 & 2, NarboroughEnterprise | Santander UK Plc | NarboroughBlaby District Council | Midlands | Operational | — | Not disclosed | — | — | 23 Sep 2026 |
| Cobalt Data Centre Campus (Stellium)Campus: Cobalt ParkColocation | Stellium Datacenters | WallsendNorth Tyneside Council | North East and Yorkshire | Operational | 80 MW | Capacity definition unclear | Application Permitted8 May 2025 | — | 19 Aug 2026 |
| Court Lane Industrial Estate data centre, IverType unconfirmed | — | IverBuckinghamshire Council | South East | Approved | — | Not disclosed | Refused by Buckinghamshire Council 17 October 2023; appeal allowed by the Secretary of State 6 December 2024.6 Dec 2024 | — | 7 Oct 2026 |
| Culham AI Growth ZoneType unconfirmed | — | Culham | South East | Approved | 100 MW | Not disclosed | — | — | 10 Aug 2026 |
| CX Technology Campus, ChapelcrossType unconfirmed | — | AnnanDumfries and Galloway Council | Scotland | Proposed | 1,000 MW | Capacity definition unclear | — | — | 2 Oct 2026 |
| Data Centre Campus, Ampthill Road, BedfordCampus: Quest Park Data Centre CampusType unconfirmed | — | BedfordCentral Bedfordshire Council | East of England | Proposed | — | Not disclosed | Section 35 direction granted: treated as nationally significant infrastructure requiring a Development Consent Order15 Jun 2026 | — | 27 Sep 2026 |
| Data centre campus, Hayes Bridge and Heathrow InterchangeHyperscale | — | HayesLondon Borough of Hillingdon | London | Approved | 250 MW | Not disclosed | Approval recorded: Phase 1 full; Phases 2 to 4 outline. Date conflict: parent register 'Decided' 29 October 2025; Colt describes committee resolution to grant; later council applications cite permission dated 20 May 2026. Issued notice not retrieved to reconcile dates.29 Oct 2025 | — | 27 Sep 2026 |
| Data centre campus, Tudor Works, HayesColocation | Colt Data Centre Services | HayesLondon Borough of Hillingdon | London | Under construction | 31 MW | IT load | Approval26 Apr 2022 | — | 27 Sep 2026 |
| Data centre, former White's Reclamation Site, EcclesColocation | — | EcclesSalford City Council | North West England | Approved | — | Not disclosed | Approve with conditions23 Jul 2025 | — | 27 Sep 2026 |
| DataVita DV3, ChapelhallCampus: Chapelhall campusType unconfirmed | DataVita | ChapelhallNorth Lanarkshire Council | Scotland | Under construction | — | Not disclosed | Approved; under construction as of September 2026 | — | 27 Sep 2026 |
| DataVita DV4, ChapelhallCampus: Chapelhall campusType unconfirmed | DataVita | ChapelhallNorth Lanarkshire Council | Scotland | Proposed | — | Not disclosed | Planning permission in principle sought; application submitted, decision pending | — | 24 Sep 2026 |
| DC01UK, South MimmsType unconfirmed | Equinix | South MimmsHertsmere Borough Council | East of England | Approved | — | Not disclosed | Outline planning permission granted by planning committee23 Jan 2025 | — | 27 Sep 2026 |
| Deep Green Bradford, Listerhills RoadEdge | Deep Green Technologies | BradfordCity of Bradford Metropolitan District Council | North East and Yorkshire | Approved | — | Not disclosed | Grant subject to Unilateral Undertaking13 May 2026 | — | 19 Aug 2026 |
| Devon Data Campus (Xlinks), near Great TorringtonAI or high-performance computing | Xlinks | Great TorringtonTorridge District Council | South West | Proposed | 1,500 MW | IT load | — | — | 30 Sep 2026 |
| Digital Realty CrawleyColocation | Digital Realty | CrawleyCrawley Borough Council | South East England | Operational | — | Not disclosed | Environmental permit issued9 Jun 2025 | — | 12 Aug 2026 |
| Digital Realty Woking data centreColocation | Digital Realty (UK) Limited | WokingWoking Borough Council | South East England | Operational | — | Not disclosed | — | — | 23 Sep 2026 |
| Elsham Tech Park, former RAF Elsham WoldsAI or high-performance computing | — | ElshamNorth Lincolnshire Council | North East and Yorkshire | Approved | 1,000 MW | IT load | Planning Committee resolved to grant on 11 Mar 2026, subject to National Highways' holding objection being resolved and a s106 agreement. Decision notice not confirmed. | — | 3 Oct 2026 |
| Equinix LD8, London DocklandsColocation | Equinix | LondonLondon Borough of Tower Hamlets | London | Operational | — | Not disclosed | Environmental permit issued27 Oct 2023 | — | 18 Aug 2026 |
| Equinix Wexham Road (former AkzoNobel site)Type unconfirmed | Equinix | SloughSlough Borough Council | Slough and the Thames Valley | Approved | — | Not disclosed | Outline application P/00072/152 (up to 90,614 sqm GEA of data centre development): on 26 November 2025 the Planning Committee voted to delegate approval to the Planning Manager, subject to a financial contribution towards a Slough district heating network. Issue of the decision notice has not been confirmed.26 Nov 2025 | — | 18 Aug 2026 |
| Global Switch LondonColocation | Global Switch | LondonLondon Borough of Tower Hamlets | London | Operational | 87 MW | Capacity definition unclear | Environmental permit issued28 Jun 2019 | — | 18 Aug 2026 |
| Google data centre, North Weald AirfieldHyperscale | North WealdEpping Forest District Council | East of England | Approved | — | Not disclosed | Planning Committee A voted to approve with conditions, 10 Dec 2025; officer recommendation subject to a s106 agreement. Decision notice not confirmed.10 Dec 2025 | — | 3 Oct 2026 | |
| Google Waltham Cross data centreHyperscale | Waltham CrossBroxbourne Borough Council | East of England | Operational | — | Not disclosed | Committee resolved to grant reserved matters on 12 Sep 2023. Decision-notice dates not confirmed. | 16 Sep 2025 | 3 Oct 2026 | |
| GreenScale Derry Campus (formerly Atlantic Hub), Foyle PortCampus: Atlantic HubType unconfirmed | GreenScale | DerryDerry City and Strabane District Council | Northern Ireland | Approved | 100 MW | Grid-connection capacity | Granted (reserved matters)9 Oct 2024 | — | 27 Sep 2026 |
| Haspielaw Farm, HamiltonType unconfirmed | — | HamiltonSouth Lanarkshire Council | Scotland | Proposed | — | Not disclosed | EIA screening opinion issued: environmental impact assessment required25 Jun 2025 | — | 27 Sep 2026 |
| Imperial Park campus, Newport (Vantage, formerly Next Generation Data)Campus: Imperial ParkColocation | Vantage Data Centers (formerly Next Generation Data) | NewportNewport City Council | Wales | Operational | — | Capacity definition unclear | — | — | 18 Aug 2026 |
| Kao Data Harlow, Plot F (KLON-07 and KLON-08)Campus: Kao Data HarlowColocation | Kao Data | HarlowHarlow Council | East of England | Proposed | — | Not disclosed | — | — | 27 Sep 2026 |
| Kao Data Kenwood Point, StockportColocation | Kao Data | StockportStockport Metropolitan Borough Council | North West England | Approved | 40 MW | Capacity definition unclear | Approved at Heatons and Reddish Area Committee4 Mar 2024 | — | 27 Sep 2026 |
| Lanarkshire AI Growth ZoneType unconfirmed | DataVita, in partnership with CoreWeave | Airdrie | Scotland | Approved | 500 MW | Capacity definition unclear | — | — | 24 Sep 2026 |
| Land off Bedmond Road data centre, Abbots LangleyType unconfirmed | — | Abbots LangleyThree Rivers District Council | East of England | Approved | — | Not disclosed | Refused by Three Rivers District Council 25 January 2024; appeal allowed by the Secretary of State 12 May 2025.12 May 2025 | — | 1 Oct 2026 |
| Manor Farm and land north of Wraysbury ReservoirType unconfirmed | — | SloughSlough Borough Council | Slough and the Thames Valley | Approved | 72 MW | IT load | Appeal allowed by the Secretary of State, subject to conditions10 Jun 2026 | — | 27 Sep 2026 |
| Manor Farm West, west of Poyle Trading Estate (three data centres)Type unconfirmed | — | SloughSlough Borough Council | Slough and the Thames Valley | Proposed | — | Capacity definition unclear | — | — | 30 Sep 2026 |
| Microsoft Newport Imperial Park (CWL01), former Quinn Radiators siteHyperscale | Microsoft | NewportNewport City Council | Wales | Approved | 200 MW | IT load | Approved3 Jul 2024 | — | 29 Sep 2026 |
| North East England AI Growth Zone (Cobalt Park & Blyth)Type unconfirmed | Blackstone (via QTS) at Blyth; Stargate UK (OpenAI, Nvidia, Nscale) at Cobalt Park | Wallsend & Blyth | North East | Approved | 1,100 MW | Not disclosed | — | — | 23 Sep 2026 |
| North Wales AI Growth ZoneType unconfirmed | — | — | Wales | Approved | — | Not disclosed | — | — | 27 Sep 2026 |
| Nscale Loughton sovereign AI data centreAI or high-performance computing | Nscale | LoughtonEpping Forest District Council | East of England | Approved | — | Grid-connection capacity | Permission granted (outline 2024; revised scheme approved mid-2026) | — | 30 Sep 2026 |
| Premier Park data centre, Park RoyalType unconfirmed | Pure DC | LondonOld Oak and Park Royal Development Corporation | London | Approved | — | Not disclosed | Resolved at OPDC Planning Committee, 26 February 202626 Feb 2026 | — | 27 Sep 2026 |
| Prosperity Parc, Holyhead (Anglesey)Campus: Prosperity ParcType unconfirmed | Stena Line (via Anglesey Land Holdings) | HolyheadIsle of Anglesey County Council | Wales | Approved | — | Not disclosed | Outline planning permission granted11 Sep 2025 | — | 24 Sep 2026 |
| Rover Way energy park and data centre, SplottColocation | — | CardiffCardiff Council | Wales | Approved | — | Not disclosed | Permission granted15 Apr 2025 | — | 27 Sep 2026 |
| Skelton Grange, LeedsHyperscale | Microsoft | LeedsLeeds City Council | North East and Yorkshire | Proposed | — | Not disclosed | Resolution to grant, Leeds City Council planning committee, April 2026; decision notice not yet issued | — | 2 Oct 2026 |
| South Wales AI Growth ZoneType unconfirmed | Vantage Data Centers and Microsoft | Bridgend | Wales | Approved | 1,000 MW | Not disclosed | — | — | 10 Aug 2026 |
| Spodegreen Data Centre, Little BollingtonType unconfirmed | — | Little BollingtonCheshire East Council | North West England | Proposed | — | Not disclosed | — | — | 2 Oct 2026 |
| Teledata WythenshaweColocation | Datum Datacentres (formerly TeleData UK) | ManchesterManchester City Council | North West England | Operational | — | Not disclosed | — | 26 Jun 2025 | 18 Aug 2026 |
| Thames Valley Park Data Centre, EarleyType unconfirmed | — | EarleyWokingham Borough Council | South East | Proposed | 72 MW | IT load | Outline application submitted in late September 2026; decision expected by March 2027 | — | 7 Oct 2026 |
| Vantage Bridgend campus (former Ford engine plant)Type unconfirmed | Vantage Data Centers | BridgendBridgend County Borough Council | Wales | Approved | — | Not disclosed | Approved2 Oct 2025 | — | 27 Sep 2026 |
| VIRTUS LONDON1 data centre, EnfieldColocation | Enfield DC Service Company Limited | EnfieldLondon Borough of Enfield | London | Operational | 4.2 MW | IT load | — | — | 27 Sep 2026 |
| VIRTUS Stockley Park campusCampus: Stockley ParkColocation | VIRTUS Data Centres | UxbridgeLondon Borough of Hillingdon | London | Operational | — | Not disclosed | Permit granted for London 5 and London 6; refused in part for London 7 and London 816 Nov 2021 | — | 12 Aug 2026 |
| West London Technology Park (Woodlands Park landfill site), IverType unconfirmed | — | IverBuckinghamshire Council | South East | paused | — | Not disclosed | Refused by Buckinghamshire Council 25 June 2024; appeal allowed by the Secretary of State 9 July 2025; High Court challenge: in January 2026 the government accepted the permission should be quashed (no EIA). Final court outcome not yet confirmed.9 Jul 2025 | — | 1 Oct 2026 |
Regional breakdown
| Region | Operational | Under construction | Approved | Proposed | Operational MW | MW in development | Hyperscale | Latest decision | Completeness | Last updated |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| London | — | — | — | — | — | — | — | — | No data yet | — |
| Slough and the Thames Valley | — | — | — | — | — | — | — | — | No data yet | — |
| South East England | — | — | — | — | — | — | — | — | No data yet | — |
| Midlands | — | — | — | — | — | — | — | — | No data yet | — |
| North West England | — | — | — | — | — | — | — | — | No data yet | — |
| North East and Yorkshire | — | — | — | — | — | — | — | — | No data yet | — |
| Scotland | — | — | — | — | — | — | — | — | No data yet | — |
| Wales | — | — | — | — | — | — | — | — | No data yet | — |
| Northern Ireland | — | — | — | — | — | — | — | — | No data yet | — |
Regional definitions are set out on the methodology page. A dash means no verified figure has been recorded yet.
Related
- AI Electricity Demand Index — the electricity this infrastructure consumes.
- Grid Pressure Index — whether the network can connect it.
- UK data-centre tracker — individual project records.
Cite or share this index
AI Energy Intelligence, Data Centre Growth Index, accessed 12 October 2026. https://aienergyintelligence.co.uk/uk-ai-energy-index/data-centre-growth
Get UK AI Energy Index updates
Emails cover new index editions, material indicator changes, significant data-centre and grid developments, and updates to the methodology or source register.